Sipping the Past

I am sipping water,
It’s hot, I take small sips,
slowly, I want it to
cure my headache.

It’s been a long day,
so many miles,
so many people, strangers, mostly,
my knees are giving away.

I like the sunset today,
like a postcard from a friend of far away.
I run down the stairs
to see it, without the
window in between me and the sun.

I want to talk, to the people,
to their past,
I want to see what they see,
I want to float down,
gently, like a fallen petal,
down the gurgling brook of yesterday.

4 thoughts on “Sipping the Past

Leave a Reply

